Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation

Tourism Achievement Award


The Department of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation has had the privilege to present the Doug Wheeler Tourism Award for the past 35 years. The award was in honour a former government employee whose name was synonymous with the achievement of Tourism excellence in the tourism industry. The Department is proud to continue recognizing outstanding group or individual’s long-time achievement and dedication to the tourism industry, and serves as an inspiration to all of us striving for excellence in tourism through the Tourism Achievement Award. The award is presented annually during the Hospitality Newfoundland and Labrador Convention.

Selection Criteria

The selection committee will look for outstanding contributions in the field of tourism. The committee will base its selection on the criteria that are listed on the nomination form.


  1. Private Sector: Those individuals or groups actively working in any sector of the tourism industry, such as:
    1. Attractions: boat tours, theme parks, museums, festivals, adventure tours, special events, etc.
    2. Accommodations: hotels, cabins, hospitality homes, campgrounds, etc
    3. Food and Beverage: restaurants, community suppers, lounges, etc.
    4. Transportation: airlines, ferries, rent-a-car companies, etc.
    5. Consultants engaged in studying, promoting or otherwise developing the tourism industry
  2. Non-governmental organizations: Those individuals or groups actively promoting, coordinating, or otherwise developing the tourism industry in the province: heritage preservation groups, town councils, tourism associations, etc.
    1. Employees of the Provincial or Federal Government or their Crown Corporations are not eligible for nomination.
  3. Long-Time Service: Those individuals who have contributed significantly to the tourism industry in Newfoundland and Labrador during the course of their career.

Nomination Procedure

  1. All nominations must be submitted on the Nomination Form . Please complete all sections of the form so the selection committee can adequately review the nominations. The committee will have to judge among scores of nominees, so be clear, concise and complete.
  2. The nominees must be nominated by at least one nominator. For individuals, the nominator can be any other individual. For groups, the nominator can be an individual, either inside or outside the group.
  3. Nominations must be received no later than November 30, 2018. They can be mailed, faxed or e-mailed to:

    Tourism Achievement Award

    Department of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation
    2rd Floor, West Block
    Confederation Building
    P.O. Box 8700
    St. John's, NL A1B 4J6
    Fax: (709) 729-0474

Previous Winners of the Tourism Achievement Award and the Doug Wheeler Award


2018 - Tineke and Marieke Gow, The Artisan Inn and Twine Loft, Trinity Vacations
2017 - David Snow, Wildland Tours
2016 – Rick Stanley, Ocean Quest Adventures
2015 – Jill Curran of Lighthouse Picnics and Maxxim Vacations
2014 - Joe and Loyola O'Brien, O'Brien's Whale and Bird Tours
2013 - Colleen Kennedy, Gros Morne Cooperating Association
2012 - Stan Cook Jr.
2011 - The Beaches Heritage Centre
2010 - Fred Parsons
2009 - Jim Miller
2008 - The Sparkes Family
2007 - John and Peggy Fisher, Fishers' Loft Inn, Port Rexton
2006 - Ocean Net, St. John's
2005 - Roger Jamieson and Grand Falls-Windsor 2005 Centennial Committee
2004 - East Coast Trail Association
2003 - Tourism Elliston
2002 - Paul Lannon, Air Canada
2001 - Paula Flood, Carriage House B & B and Flood's Stables
2000 - Terry Chaffey, Mount Peyton Hotel
1999 - Host Committee of the '99 Canada Winter Games
1998 - Cathy Lomond, St. Christopher's Hotel
1997 - Clayton Sparkes, Clayton Inns
1996 - Labrador Straits Historical Development Corporation
1995 - Keith Nicol, Corner Brook
1994 - Rupert Morris, Trinity
1993 - Destination Labrador
1992 - Bruce Turner, Hotel Newfoundland
1991 - Ruth Story, Deer Lake Motel
1990 - Rufus Guinchard, Hawke's Bay
1989 - Michel Levasseur, Mi-Tour, Corner Brook
1988 - Shannie Duff, Soiree '88 Committee, St. John's
1987 - Bill Bennett, Gander Aviation
1986 - Cheryl Stagg, Stephenville Festival
1985 - Lorna Stuckless, Fish, Fun & Folk Festival, Twillingate
1984 - Regina McCarthy, McCarthy's Party, Topsail
1983 - Northern Travels Inc., Great Northern Peninsula
1982 - Newfoundland and Labrador Hotel/Motel Association


Contact Information


Quick Links

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.